Searchlight Race Report

<![if !vml]>AZOPlogoFinal]<![endif]>Arizona Off Road Promotions teams up with SGPRA for the 17th annual Searchlight GP in Searchlight, NV



Searchlight, NV (11/9/2014) – The Arizona Off Road Promotions series headed out of state to co-promote the 17th Annual Searchlight GP last weekend.  The Searchlight GP is one of the last true GP’s left.  The race course is the most unique course most racers will ever see.  The course varies from motocross to desert hills to asphalt streets to backyards, garages and even a house!  Many locals come out to watch the racing along the streets and neighborhoods.  This year’s race had over 230 entries.

The course changes slightly each year and this year it consisted of 10 amazing miles of racing with great weather all weekend.  Most races consisted of 3 laps along the amazingly fun and varied course.  Race number 1 on Saturday was for all Vet motorcycles.  The race was dominated by Robert Marshall winning the overall and the Vet 30+ A class.  The senior 40+ B class was separated by only 4 seconds between winner Jerry Thompson and runner up Jameson Noorda.  Race number 2 consisted of 125 and 250cc motorcycles.  Travis Damon took the overall and A class victory while Tim Wilson and Mike Mate took the B and C classes respectively.

ATV’s lined up for the third race of the day.  Six pros left the line first with the holeshot going to Ryan Waldo who led the race from beginning to end.  Second place went to Cody Mitchell from Nevada.  Koby Dodson won the Sportsmen class by nearly a minute while WORCS Pro Am racer Rick Ellsworth took home the Expert class win over Ryan Marshall.

SGPRA LOGORace number 4 of Saturday consisted of the Pro and Open Motorcycle classes.  The Open Pro victory went to Blayne Thompson who beat Steve Gibson by about 90 seconds.  Fourteen Open A class bikes battled it out with the win going to Cole Nanney.  The race of the day was in the Open B class where Colton Elliot won by less than 1 second over Jesse Fossett.  The final race of the day was the team race where teams of 2 competed on a shortened course.  The CMS team took home the victory among the 13 teams entered.

Sunday’s events focused on the youth classes and the UTV race.  At 8am thirteen UTV’s took the green flag.  Riche Laatz took the victory by over 2 minutes over Angela Olander in second and Codey Rowley in third.

The youth and peewee classes raced for the remainder of Sunday.  Class winners were: Colin Elliott-150cc A, Noah Fowler- 150cc B, Destry Kruger- 150cc C, Gordon Tarnow 125cc, Deshawn Tallsalt- 300c, Nathan Tyler- 65cc B, Gunner Deatherage- 65cc C, and in the Mini Team Race the team of Dylan and Cole led from beginning to end.

The Searchlight GP is a truly special race that everyone should see to believe.  The desert loop by itself is amazing and the addition of the town section, short motocross section and the endure section just make it very unique and fun.

The next race for the AZOP series is scheduled for December 13th at Canyon MX Park in Peoria, AZ.  For more information and the latest news please visit

Or visit us on Facebook.

Thank you,

Kyle Krause








Leave a Comment